Gourmand Geets: Mangalore Pearl

It’s been a while since I indulged in a neer dosa  with some amazing chicken stew. I discovered Mangalore Pearl on a friend’s recommendation (of course) and became a fan instantly. Tucked away in a corner, opposite Sony centre on Coles Road, it’s easy to miss it. The first time I went there, I was greeted with a closed sign. It was Tuesday. Disgruntled, annoyed at being denied my share of neer dosa I returned 2 days later. This time it was open and we were welcomed warmly, being one of their first guests that evening. The restaurant itself is rather simple. The decor is basic and non- offensive, the only point worth admiring being the one wall with interesting Miranda-esque caricatures.

My friend and I immediately ordered 2 glasses of sol kadhi. Spicy and refreshing, it set the mood for dinner. We decided to start with some fried aubergine and moong sukkah.

For the main course, we ordered some Chicken Roce curry and some Chicken Kori roti. A true delight to the palate, I enjoyed every morsel.

Chicken Kori Roti

The bill when it came was a real surprise for we had finished an incredibly satisfying meal for two in Rs.500 only!

Since that first rendez-vous with Mangalore Pearl, I have been back several times with other friends and family. If you are craving Mangalorean cuisine or if you are looking for a change from the usual kabab / pasta fare at most restaurants, I would say head to Coles Road. Light on the budget, great on the taste buds – this is one rendez-vous you will not regret!

Location : 3 Coles Road, Next to KC Das Sweets, Frazer Town, Bangalore.

My rating : 4.5 out of 5 (the chairs could be more comfortable and inviting.)

Leave a Reply

